ASME Cummins Student Section

Introduction

ASME stands for the American Society of Mechanical Engineers which is a professional association that promotes the arts, science and practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe. In collaboration with this world-wide organization, the ASME Cummins Student Section actively functions in the MKSSS's Cummins college of Engineering for Women. It was established on September 15, 2015 by the Section Advisor Dr. Ravindra Ingle and the student coordinators Ms. Zareen Chema and Ms. Tejaswini Jaglan. It is the first of its kind in the Savitribai Phule Pune University. The section includes student members from core engineering branches of Mechanical, EnTC and Instrumentation. A number of events and activities including guest lectures, workshops, and competitions, industrial visits that help students in their professional development and update them with the current trends in technology are organized by the section. It is a unique and one of the broadest knowledge sharing platform for students of Mechanical and non-Mechanical Engineering. It includes helping students to understand the opportunities and responsibilities that they have and developing their interest in engineering. ASME also provides its members with opportunities for student employment, internships and scholarships. Finally, the student section aids its graduating members to find jobs through resume books and career fairs. Every year a number of new students' register for ASME memberships. The membership is free for the First Year students.

Membership Numbers Year-wise

2020-2021	2019-2020	2018-2019
55+	75+	85+

Executive Committee A.Y. 2020-2021

Section Advisor: Dr. Ravindra B. Ingle, Professor, Mechanical Engg and Dean Academics Section Co-Advisor: Dr. Yashwant Munde, Asst Prof., Mechanical Engg

Post	Name
Chair	Arya Vyavahare
Vice Chair	Sanyami Kothari
Vice Chair	Kshitija Chavan
Secretary	Gargi Mhasakar
Associate Secretary	Rasika Kalokhe
Treasurer	Rutuja Sakhare
Vice Treasurer	Asra Hussain
Programme Head	Sakshi Shah
Associate Programme Head	Rashi Gulhane
Publicity Head	Awanti Marathe
Associate Publicity Head	Srushti Deore
Webmaster	Radhika Joshi
Outsourcing Head Nidhi Wadhwa	
Documentation Head	Prajakta Joshi

Achievement:

Arya Vyavahare, Final Year B. Tech Mechanical Engineering student and Chair, ASME Cummins Student Section had participated and **third prize** winner in ASME Event EFest Digital held on 24th April 2021.



Activities Conducted in A.Y. 2020-2021

Sr. No.	Name of Event	Resource Person/Organisation	Date	Particip ation
1	Panel Discussion:	Discussion: Dr. Shrivatsa Vaidya		50
	'Opportunities of Higher Education across the globe'	Mr. Ankur Rupani Ms. Aishwarya Sangle		
2	Webinar: 'Brief History of Space Exploration'	Dr. Atma Prakash (Teesside University, UK)	15/10/20	80
3	Competition: 'Group Discussion Competition'	Dr. C' Shekhar Dhamankar, Forbes Marshall Prof. Jyoti Prasad, Cummins College	11/12/20	70
4	Webinar: ASME EFest Awareness Session	Ms. Radhika Dharmadhikari (GET BDTCI)	23/12/20	70
5	Platform Launch: ASME CCOEW Connect	Networking with 14 Alumni of Cummins College from 2015- 2020	28/01/21	25
6	Webinar: LinkedIn Awareness	Ms. Radhika Bhopatkar (MS, Purdue University)	20/02/21	200
7	Webinar: ' Women in STEM'	Dr. Tutu Sengupta (Associate Scientist, MRSAC, Nagpur)	08/03/21	90
8	Virtual Industrial Visit	Cummins CPG SEZ Plant, Phaltan	22/04/21	60

Executive Committee A.Y. 2019-2020

Section Advisor: Dr. Ravindra B. Ingle, Professor, Mechanical Engg and Dean Academics

Post	Name	
Chair	Radhika Dharmadhikari	
Vice Chair	Ojal Jawale	
Vice Chair	Arya Vyavahare	
Secretary	Madhavi Swamy	
Associate Secretary	Kshitija Chavan	
Treasurer	Sanyami Kothari	
Vice Treasurer	Rutuja Sakhare	
Programme Head	Rutuja Kadam	
Associate Programme Head	Gargi Mhasakar	
Publicity Head	Prajakta Sudrik	
Associate Publicity Head	Awanti Marathe	
Webmaster	Rutvi Agarwal	
Webmaster	Samiksha Deshmukh	
Outsourcing Head	Sakshi Shah	
Newsletter Editor	Rasika Kalokhe	
Documentation Head	Dhanashree Telang	

Activities Conducted in A.Y. 2019-2020

Sr. No.	Name of Event	Resource Person/Organisation	Date	Participat ion
1	ASME EFx CCOEW	Dr Sadanand S Gokhale, Executive Director of LNMIIT Jaipur	28/09/19	*300+
		Mr Madhukar Sharma, President of ASME India		
2	Guest Lecture by Imperial Overseas	Dr. Shrivatsa Vaidya	11/10/19	100
3	Industrial Visit	Fabtech Projects and Engineers Ltd., Vasuli Unit	18/01/20	40
4	Internship Talk	Cummins College Final Year Students	28/01/20	150
5	Guest Lecture: Advanced Battery – Cell chemistry to technology for EV	Prof. Bharatkumar Suthar, IIT Bombay	14/02/20	180
6	Guest Lecture: AI and Robotics in Military	Col. Joshil Raj, HoD of the Department of Electrical Engineering in the College of Military Engineering, Pune	18/02/20	100
7	Industrial Visit	Cummins India Ltd., Phaltan	27/02/20	55

*Students from colleges in Pune, Nashik, Sangli, Nagpur, and Ratnagiri

Executive Committee A.Y. 2018-2019

Section Advisor: Dr. Ravindra B. Ingle, Professor, Mechanical Engg and Dean Academics

Post	Name	
Chair Shraddha Pawar		
Vice Chair	Teja Kulkarni	
Vice Chair	Radhika Dharmadhikari	
Secretary	Aboli Lakhe	
Associate Secretary	Arya Vyavahare	
Treasurer	Prajakta Sudrik	
Vice Treasurer	Sanyami Kothari	
Programme Head	Tamanna Patharwala	
Associate Programme Head	Rutuja Kadam	
Publicity Head	Aishwarya Ponkshe	
Associate Publicity Head	Madhvi Swamy	
Webmaster	Samiksha Deshmukh	
Outsourcing Head	Ashwati Rajeev	
Newsletter Editor	Ketki Date	
Documentation Head	Ojal Jawale	

Activities Conducted in A.Y. 2018-2019

Sr.	Name of Event	Resource Person/Organisation	Date	Particip
No				ation
1	Guest Lecture	Wing Comander Anupama	06-09-2018	135
	Touch the sky with glory	Monga		
2	Guest Lecture	Mr. Naresh Gandhi, General	15-10-2018	97
	Summary of IC engines	Manager, Kirloskar oil engines		
	and future scope	Ltd, Khadki		
3	Industrial visit	Cummins India Ltd. Plant,	21-01-2019	40
		Phaltan		
4	Industrial visit	TATA Motors, Pimpri	19-01-2019	40
5	Design Competition	Association: Design Derivatives	23-03-2019	70
	'Mechathon'	Sponsors: Ansys and Bespak		
		Engineers Pvt. Ltd.		